Central Florida Election Results

Voters across Central Florida went to the polls on Tuesday to cast ballots in several municipal and some county level races.  


Incumbents in three of Orlando’s City Commission districts were re-elected, with Robert Stuart, Regina Hill and Jim Gray all winning new terms in office.

"I just stay focused on the work of District 5.  It shows my constituents appreciate my work and not smear, dirty campaigning does not work. Working together works, and that's why I think the people chose me again. And that's why you've seen over 60 homes being built in district five in the last three years, that's why you see UCF and Valencia moving to Parramore," said Commissioner Regina Hill. 

"I'm probably most thrilled that we stuck to issues despite other types of attacks. That was important to me personally, and it's also important that the community heard a lot of negative about me and felt like we do have a really do have a good guy in Robert and want somebody we can trust. It means a lot to me," said Commissioner Robert Stuart.

In Oviedo, incumbent Dominic Persampiere defeated challenger Charlene Larney by a margin of nearly two-to-one, to win re-election as mayor of that city for a fifth term. Oviedo Councilman Steven Henken easily won re-election to represent District 1, beating Patrick Westerfield.

Elsewhere in Seminole County, incumbents took a beating as political newcomers won commission seats that were up for grabs in Longwood.  Abby Shoemaker beat District 1 Commissioner John Maingot by nearly 350 votes, or 16 percent. It was a similar margin of victory for Matt Morgan, who defeated District 4 Commissioner Mark Weller. The race was slightly closer in Longwood's District 2, where Richard Drummond beat Michael Dodane for the seat that is being vacated by Mayor Joe Durso.